#FTFTrivia Answer 11/15/12

Tonight we asked…

[tweet https://twitter.com/ForbesToFederal/status/269221040364855296]

and the answer to tonight’s #FTFTrivia is…

Jim Leyland

Leyland managed the Bucs from 1986-1996, and won two NL Manager of the Year awards with the team.  He led the Pirates to three straight division titles from 1990-1992, winning the award in ’90 and ’92, with Bobby Cox winning in ’91.  Cox’s Braves met Leyland’s Pirates in the NLCS in ’91 and ’92, with both series going to Atlanta in seven games.  The Bucs lost to the eventual World Series winners Reds in the ’90 NLCS.

Leyland finally got to the World Series in 1997 when he led the Marlins to a championship, and reached twice more with the Tigers, although he lost both.  He won the AL Manager of the Year award in 2006 with the Tigers, becoming the fourth manager to win the award in both leagues.

Will Clint Hurdle be the next manager to win the award with the Pirates…?  Probably not.

Congratulations to tonight’s winners: @johnlucas18, @steelers048, @jay_stint, and @youngslags13

Thanks to all who participated, and tune in next time for another edition of #FTFTrivia.

Go Bucs

Photo: Keith Allison/Creative Commons

Leave a Reply

From Forbes to Federal is not affiliated with the Pittsburgh Pirates or Major League Baseball.