#FTFTrivia Answer 11/8/12

Tonight we asked…

[tweet https://twitter.com/ForbesToFederal/status/266684327075667968]

and the answer to tonight’s #FTFTrivia is…

Willie Stargell

The Roberto Clemente Award, originally called the Commissioner’s Award and renamed after Clemente’s death in 1972, is an annual award given to the Major League Baseball player who “best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement, and the individual’s contribution to his team.” ┬áThere’s no doubt that “Pops” showed all of these characteristics in his time with the Bucs. ┬áHe and Clemente were close friends and led the Pirates to a world championship in 1971, and after the tragic plane crash that killed Roberto, Stargell took over as the leader of the team and helped bring another World Series championship to Pittsburgh again in 1979.

Willie Mays was the first winner of the award, and Clayton Kershaw is the 2012 recipient.

Congratulations to tonight’s winners: @fyalkowski, @johnlucas18, @BPkidscoach, @TrevorVPetrillo, and @bmur13.

Thanks to all who participated, and tune in next time for another edition of #FTFTrivia.

Go Bucs

Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images

Leave a Reply

From Forbes to Federal is not affiliated with the Pittsburgh Pirates or Major League Baseball.