Awards Week: Rookie of the Year

The Baseball Writer’s Association of America announced the winners of the 2012 American League and National League Rookie of the Year Awards on Monday night.

The American League winner is Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels.

Trout, 21, won the award by unanimous vote. The New Jersey native was an absolute beast for LA this season; he was spectacular both offensively and defensively. He is up for the AL Most Valuable Player Award as well. Trout beat out Oakland’s Yoenis Cespedes and Texas’ Yu Darvish for Rookie of the Year. While Cespedes and Darvish put together nice rookie seasons, Trout had one of the best ever.

The National League winner is Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals.

Harper, 20, led the Nationals to their first postseason appearance. He hit .330 down the stretch, crushed 22 bombs, stole 18 bases, and made the All-Star team. The other finalists were Arizona’s Wade Miley and Cincinnati’s Todd Frazier. A strong case could be made for any of the three players, though Harper is definitely deserving.