Awards Week: Cy Young

The Baseball Writer’s Association of America announced the winners of the 2012 American League and National League Cy Young Awards on Wednesday night.

The American League winner is David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays.

David Price (Keith Allison/Creative Commons)

The 27-year old southpaw went 20-5 with a 2.56 ERA this season; he beat out Detroit’s Justin Verlander and Los Angeles’ Jered Weaver for the award.

The National League winner is R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets.

R.A. Dickey (slgckgc/Creative Commons)

Dickey, 38, enjoyed the best season of his ten-year career, as he went 20-6 with a 2.73 ERA. Other NL finalists include Washington’s Gio Gonzalez and Los Angeles’ Clayton Kershaw.

National League cruises to shutout victory

The 83rd Midsummer Classic ended in an 8-0 blowout in favor of the National League All-Stars. Despite a powerhouse starting lineup, the American League failed to score a single run. The NL has now won for three consecutive years.

AL starter Justin Verlander struggled and gave up five runs on four hits while lasting just one inning. Pablo Sandoval proved he was worthy of the starting spot by hitting a bases-clearing triple off Verlander. Texas’ Matt Harrison gave up three runs on four hits in the fourth inning. The rest of the AL pitchers (Joe Nathan, David Price, Jered Weaver, Chris Sale, Ryan Cook, Jim Johnson, Fernando Rodney) threw scoreless frames. On the National League side, Tony LaRussa used a combination of eleven different pitchers to complete the shutout.

The Pirates representatives, Andrew McCutchen and Joel Hanrahan, both saw action in the game. McCutchen entered the game in the fifth inning to play center field. He went 1 for 2 at the plate, including a line drive base hit off Chris Sale. Hanrahan came in during the ninth inning and faced just one batter- Kansas City’s own Billy Butler. With the Kauffman Stadium crowd on their feet, Hammer was a bit amped and let two pitches go to the backstop. However, he got Butler to strike out swinging on the 3-2 pitch.

Melky Cabrera won the game’s MVP award, as he went 2 for 3 with two RBI and two runs scored. His home run off Matt Harrison was the only homer of the game.


Win: Matt Cain
Loss: Justin Verlander