Awards Week: Manager of the Year

The Baseball Writer’s Association of America announced the winners of the 2012 American League and National League Manager of the Year Awards on Tuesday night.

The American League winner is Bob Melvin of the Oakland A’s

Melvin led the Athletics to a 94-68 record and the AL West division title.

The National League winner is Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals

Johnson led the Nats to a 98-64 record and the NL East division title.

In other baseball news, the Toronto Blue Jays and Miami Marlins pulled off a blockbuster trade. The deal will send Jose Reyes, Josh Johnson, Mark Buerhle, John Buck, and Emilio Bonifacio to the Jays in exchange for Yunel Escobar, Adeiny Hechevarria, Jake Marisnick, and possibly more prospects. Miami dumped a ton of salary in this all-out fire sale. The three big free agents they signed last offseason – Reyes, Buerhle, and Heath Bell – are no longer with the club. Marlins star Giancarlo Stanton is understandably upset:


…while former Pirate Jose Bautista is excited: